Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.
Subject databases are an integral part of the academic research process. They focus on the scholarly output in a specific academic discipline or topic area.
America: History & Life
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM)
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.
Humanities International Complete
Access to Humanities International Complete will no longer be provided by the Collins Memorial Library after April 30, 2021.
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
MLA International Bibliography
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages. Also covers cultural studies, folklore, film studies, and linguistics.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for many journal titles with a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
The databases listed below are examples of multidisciplinary databases. These can be especially good discovery tools when you aren't which academic disciplines are writing about your topic.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.
Database Search Tips
Always use the advanced search interface and some combination of the following techniques to increase the effectiveness of your searches:
||What It Does
||Searches for exact phrase
|Truncation (usually an *)
||Searches for all forms of a word
|Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT)
||Lets you broaden or narrow your search
|Database thesaurus or index
||Allows you to pinpoint the exact indexing terms the database uses
But I can't find anything EXACTLY on my topic!
This is a GOOD thing! It means that you have a wonderful opportunity to contribute an original argument to the world of ideas. You'll need to undertake research creatively with related ideas and concepts.