Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to Print Collections
Students who are located outside of the local Tacoma area can still partially access the print collection by making use of the library's digitization request service.
Anthologies of Primary Sources: China
Sources of Chinese Tradition, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Print Books DS721 .D37 1999, vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 1999
Includes a wide selection of source readings on Chinese history, society, and thought.
Hawaii Reader in Traditional Chinese Culture by
Call Number: Print Books DS721 .H338 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The Hawai'i Reader in Traditional Chinese Culture is a collection of more than ninety primary sources--all but a few of which were translated specifically for this volume--of cultural significance from the Bronze Age to the turn of the twentieth century.
Anthologies of Primary Sources: Japan
Sources of Japanese Tradition, 1600 to 2000 by
Call Number: Print Books DS821 .S68 2006, vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2006
Includes a wide selection of source materials on history, society, politics, education, philosophy, and religion.
Modern Japan: A History in Documents by
Call Number: Print Books DS881.9 .H85 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Presents texts from the Tokugawa era to the late 20th century. Includes "picture essays" making use of visual primary sources.
Selected Print Collections (in English translation) in Collins Library
"Secondary Sources" as Primary Sources
Materials that we generally think of as secondary sources--such as scholarly journals--can be used as primary sources if your aim is to closely examine a debate or conversation during a specific time period.
Here are some examples:
Remember, too, that JSTOR includes the deep backfiles of hundreds of scholarly journals. Suppose, for example, you'd like to see if/how American scholars in the 1930s were writing about Japan. By using the advanced search interface in JSTOR, you can limit your results to just articles from the 1930s and would discover that the journals Pacific Affairs and Far Eastern Journal provide numerous articles for examination.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Archival & Special Collections Resources
Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections homepage
Visit Puget Sound's A&SC webpage to learn all about the various collections we have and how you can use them!
Claire & Don Egge Collection on China
Largely comprised of newspaper clippings from English-language newspapers from the People's Republic of China, 1987-1990, which focus on political and economic questions and the Tiananmen Square protests of 1989.
Densho Digital Repository
Densho’s mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished. We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy, and promote equal justice for all.
Government documents can be rich primary sources. A few highlights:
Foreign Relations of the U.S. (FRUS)
FRUS is the official documentary history of the foreign policy and diplomacy of the United States. A digitization process is underway; print volumes can be searched in Primo.
Results in Primo can be limited to government documents.
Newspapers & Magazines
For more contemporary news databases, choose from the the selections listed on the "Find News" library guide.