Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide has been created to specifically help students enrolled in ALC 205. For additional information on navigating library resources during the Spring 2020 COVID-19 pandemic, please go to Remote Access to Library Services and Resources. Please don't hesitate to ask for research help!
Tertiary Sources for Literature
Literature Resource Center
Contains articles from subject encyclopedias, academic journals and literary magazines as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries. Coverage of East Asian literatures is uneven, so you may need to try other options as well.
The Columbia Companion to Modern East Asian Literature by
Call Number: Click on title and then on "Ebook Central Academic Complete" to access the book electronically. If you'd prefer a physical book, there's a copy in the main stacks, call number PL493 .C55 2003 (third floor)
Publication Date: 2003
Includes more than one hundred articles that show how a host of authors and literary movements have contributed to the general literary development of their respective countries. Comprehensive thematic essays introduce each geographical section with historical overviews and surveys of persistent themes in the literature examined. Following the thematic essays are the individual entries: over forty for China, over fifty for Japan, and almost thirty for Korea, featuring everything from detailed analyses of the works of Tanizaki Jun'ichiro and Murakami Haruki, to far-ranging explorations of avant-garde fiction in China and postwar novels in Korea.
Encyclopedia of the Novel by
Call Number: Print Reference PN 41 E487 1998, vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 1998
This reference work includes entries on several specific Chinese and Japanese novels, and also includes overviews of the history of the novel as a genre in both countries.
You also may wish to look at handbooks, overviews, or histories available in the main stacks or via SUMMIT. Here are the Library of Congress Subject Headings to get you started:
Chinese literature -- History and criticism
Japanese literature -- History and criticism
Korean literature -- History and criticism
Tertiary Sources for History & Culture
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan by
Call Number: DS805 .K633 Print Books
Publication Date: 1983
This nine-volume reference contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture. The 50,000-item index is cross-referenced for easy location of facts.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China by
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2008
Provides insight into Chinese history and culture today in nearly a thousand articles that include everything from Adoption and Banking to Wound Literature and the Zhou Dynasty
Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy by
Call Number: B121 .E53 2001 Reference
Publication Date: 2001
From Abhidharma to Zurvan, this encyclopedia identifies and defines the principal concepts and individuals in Asian philosophy throughout the world.
Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd edition by
Call Number: Click title for online access.
Publication Date: 2005
Includes entries on Japanese and Chinese myth, and on intersections between religion and literature in the two countries.
Associate Director for Public Services
Work with a Peer Research Advisor!
Virtual Drop-in Hours
Sunday through Wednesday: 6:30 to 8:30 pm PST (Pacific Standard Time)
We use Google Meet:
Allie and Hannah are also available for individual appointments. Go to our Schedule a Research Appointment page, click the request button, and select either Hannah or Allie from the drop-down menu to see what appointment times they have available.
What's a tertiary source?
Tertiary sources are excellent starting points! They consist of information synthesized from primary and secondary sources. Examples include:
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Fact books
- Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
- Manuals or handbooks
These resources give you succinct overviews of your topic, explain scholarly arguments, point out interesting questions, and refer you to especially key sources. For the purpose of your annotated bibliography assignment in ALC 205, look for more substantial entries in subject encyclopedias or handbooks.