Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's a scholarly secondary source?
A secondary source in general is a work that reports on or interacts with a primary source or collection of primary sources. A scholarly secondary source is a work that includes an argument or interpretive claim, written by someone with expertise in that field, which has undergone a process of peer-review by other experts. A scholarly secondary source can be:
- An article published in a peer-reviewed journal.
- An essay in a collection edited by a scholar or group of scholars.
- A monograph (a thesis-driven, book-length treatment of a topic)
For your annotated bibliography you need three secondary scholarly sources that, when considered together, provide multiple perspectives on your literary work.
PRIMO is the best search tool for identifying books (including essay collections) on your chosen literary work, whether they are ebooks or print books available in Collins Library or from one of our partner SUMMIT libraries. PRIMO also can help you find book reviews and selected articles.
Tip: Books requested from another SUMMIT library can take up to a week to arrive, so plan ahead!
PRIMO Search Tips
- Use the "Advanced Search" option.
- Do a subject search on the title of the literary work you are researching; this will ensure that the results are about the work, not the work itself.
- Search by the English translation of the title AND the transliteration of the Chinese or Japanese title.
- If you can't yet read academic work in other languages, limit the results to English only.
- After running your search, make full use of the facets on the right-hand side of the screen to further pinpoint your results.
- Make sure you've signed in with your University of Puget Sound username and password, because some resources and services (like SUMMIT) won't show up as options if you don't.
Example of a search query:
Subject databases offer more comprehensive search results within a particular field or discipline of study. They often provide abstracts of scholarly work and index multiple types of academic writing: books, articles, essays, reviews, dissertations.
Tip: Due to their more comprehensive nature, subject databases may identify materials that you'll need to request from other libraries, so plan ahead! Use PRIMO to track down and request books and essay collections from SUMMIT. Use ILLiad (interlibrary loan) to request electronic copies of articles to which Collins Library doesn't already have access.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages. Also covers cultural studies, folklore, film studies, and linguistics.
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Online Article Collections
Online article collections provide full-text convenience and can provide you with a sense of the scholarly terrain of a topic. However, their search interfaces typically are not as granular as those of subject databases, so search queries often will provide lengthy lists of results, not all of which may be useful or even relevant.
Literature Resource Center
After running your search, click on "literature criticism" to see only results published in academic journals. Be careful--some of the results will be reviews of other scholarly works, not scholarly articles.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.