Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 325 The Cutting Edge: Modern and Contemporary Art and Global Contexts: Articles & Databases

Art Related Databases

These subject databases may be especially useful for your research projects for this class. 

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases provide access to many scholarly journals and other resources in the Humanities, but they are more limited in coverage compared to subject databases.   However, when you are specifically undertaking interdisciplinary research, these databases can be excellent starting places.

Database Search Tips

Although databases may vary in scope, they have some common search features which can be used in constructing a search.

  • Phrase Searching: Use quotation marks around the words that are part of a phrase
    • "race in art"
  • Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document.
    • Hockney AND "stage design"
  • Use OR for related or synonymous terms.
    • modernism OR "modern art"
  • Use parentheses to group a search and combine it with another search.
    • "Jacob Lawrence" AND (paintings OR murals)
  • Use an asterisk * to find variant word endings. Be careful not to shorten your word too much, because this can bring back results that are not relevant.
    • paint* retrieves paint, paints, painters, painting, etc.

Note: Many databases offer an advanced search option to refine your results by type of publication, language, date, etc.

Finding Articles & Journals in Primo

Primo provides access to articles from selected databases (ProQuest, Jstor, Project Muse, etc.).

To search for journal articles, do an advanced search. Type keywords and change material type to articles. See example below.

To search a journal title, do an advanced search. Change the drop down menu to title. Type the title in quote marks and change material type to journals. See example below.

Newspapers

Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form.

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.

Liaison Librarian Information

Profile Photo
Angela Weaver
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Collins Library 131
253-879-3229