Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sound Writing is the official writing handbook on campus, written by student writing advisors and specifically tailored to the needs of Puget Sound students and their faculty.
In addition to supporting the development of successful academic writing skills, Sound Writing also includes sections on research methods, writing in the disciplines, and more.
Sound Writing provides help with three citation styles: MLA, APA, and Chicago (notes & bibliography).
Current Edition: 2020
Get Help at CWLT
The Center for Writing, Learning and Teaching (CWLT), located in Howarth 109, offers students opportunities to get help on all aspects of the writing process. Services include:
- Writing Advisors who are selected through a rigorous application process and who are specially trained to help students get started on a paper, organize their thoughts, or improve their editing skills.
- Peer Tutors in a wide range of subjects who are nominated by professors in their disciplines and who are specially trained to help students individually or in small groups.
- Language Partners who work with multilingual students to help them navigate the conventions and quirks of academic English writing.
- Academic Consultants who are specially trained to help students improve their time management skills, organization, study skills, and test-taking strategies.
Guides for Writing in German
German Grammar Made Easy by
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access
Publication Date: 2016
Presents the essential patterns and rules of the German language in a clear and accessible manner. Features concise and jargon-free explanations supported by examples; exercises throughout to reinforce learning; a "fast-track" option for more advanced learners; and a full answer key.
A Practical Dictionary of German Usage by
Call Number: PF3460 .B35 1996 Reference
Publication Date: 1997
Many common English words have several, sometimes a bewildering number of German equivalents. The articles in this practical dictionary are much longer than those to be found in a bilingual dictionary, and the number of words treated is fewer, with a concentration on those which cause particular difficulties for speakers of English.
Hammer's German Grammar and Usage, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: PF3105 .H3 1991 Print Books
Publication Date: 1991
Hammer's German Grammar and Usage provides students and teachers with a complete guide to German as it is written and spoken today.
MLA Style Guide
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016 Reference (plus one copy on reserves)
Publication Date: 2016
The latest (8th) edition of the "official" guide!
You should always should check with your professor to make sure which citation style to use. See the Collins Library quick MLA citation guide for commonly used types of sources, or consult the full book.
MLA Core Elements of a Citation
The newest edition of the MLA Handbook provides a "universal set of guidelines" for citing sources across all format types. In the new model, the writer creates an entry by consulting the MLA’s list of core elements—facts common to most works—which are assembled in a specific order. The MLA core elements appear below:
[From: MLA Style Center]
MLA Style for German
The citation style most commonly used in German Studies is the MLA style. However, you always should check with your professor to make sure which citation style to use.
Although the MLA style works for both English- and German-language materials, there are some specific differences to be aware of:
- When citing titles, capitalize only the first word and words that normally are capitalized in German:
Ein treuer Diener seines Herrn
Zeitschrift für vergleichende Sprachforschung
- When arranging the "Works Cited" list alphabetically by surname, pay close attention to a German surname with an umlaut. Treat the umlauted vowel as if it were followed by an e; thus, Götz would be alphabetized as Goetz and would precede Gott in an alphabetical listing.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Oxford Dictionaries includes additional resources and tools for learning the German language, including an extensive library of letter templates, vocabulary games, and cultural information.
Fully searchable bilingual dictionaries and study materials that provide help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Currently includes Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish dictionaries.
What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is an online knowledge management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
Why should you use RefWorks? There are both practical and more conceptual advantages:
- You can easily save bibliographic information about all of your sources in a single place
- You can generate bibliographies in dozens of citation styles
- You can organize and re-organize your sources to fit any project
- Over time, you will build a personal library of sources that will make it easier to reflect on and make connections between all of the research you have done for your separate classes, which is a key goal of a liberal arts education
- You will have developed an impressive bibliography that you can continue to consult and add to when you are in graduate or professional school or are in your first job after college
Citations are key to participating in the scholarly community. They are a way to converse with other scholars, but they also:
- Give fair credit to others for their ideas, creations, and expressions.
- Back up claims and statements.
- Provide a way for an interested reader to learn more.
- Support academic integrity.
Consult Citation Tools to learn more about different citation styles. Collins Library also supports two knowledge management tools: RefWorks and Zotero.
There are several additional reliable and thorough guides to citation styles available online: