Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources in German Studies
What you will use as primary sources in German Studies will depend on the context of your assignment:
- An assignment on some aspect of German civilization could use art or film as primary sources.
- An assignment for a German literature class would use literary texts as primary sources.
- A class on contemporary popular German culture could use current magazines or newspapers.
Enjoy exploring the various resources on this tab!
Primary Source Collections
From Germany to Germany: journal of the year 1990 by
Call Number: PT2613.R338 Z4613 2012 Print Books
Publication Date: 2012
In January 1990, just months after the fall of the Berlin Wall, Günter Grass made two New Year's resolutions: the first was to travel extensively in the newly united Germany and the second was to keep a diary, to record his impressions of a historic time. Grass takes part in public debates, writes for newspapers, makes speeches, and meets emerging politicians. He talks to German citizens on both sides, listening to their bewilderment and their hopes for the future.
Germany in Transit: nation and migration, 1955-2005 by
Call Number: DD74 .G47 2007 Print Books
Publication Date: 2007
How does migration change a nation? Germany in Transit is the first sourcebook to illuminate the country's transition into a multiethnic society--from the arrival of the first guest workers in the mid-1950s to the most recent reforms in immigration and citizenship law. Includes 200 original texts in English translation, as well as a historical introduction, chronology, glossary, bibliography, and filmography.
Uniting Germany by
Call Number: DD290.22 .D4813 1994 Print Books
A collection of central texts on German unification.
Online Primary Source Collections
German History in Documents and Images
"GHDI is collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery. The materials are presented in ten sections, which have been compiled by leading scholars."
Multicultural Germany Project
MGP is based Department of German at UC Berkeley and seeks to foster cross-disciplinary research that addresses Germany’s changing cultural identity in the era of mass migration, globalization, and European integration. Includes a chronology, bibliography (including literary works), and filmography.