Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Tips
Number 1 Search Tip:
Use Advanced Search and limit features whenever possible. Subset limits, date limits, citation searches, subject searches, etc. -- are all useful timesavers.
More Search Tips:
- Start with a general search.
- Use quotes for phrases.
- Use AND to find all the words on your topic.
- Use OR to find any of the words on your topic.
- ex. dance AND (male OR masculinity OR men)
- The symbol * is used as a right hand truncation character in most databases; it will find all forms of a word.
- Ex. danc* will retrieve dance, dancers, dancing, etc.
- Be flexible in your searching.
Too MUCH Information?
- Use more specific words.
- Narrow your search by adding more words connecting them with AND.
- Do a subject search instead of a keyword search.
- Put phrases in quotation marks.
Too LITTLE Information?
- Try different search words, including synonyms, broader terms, or related words.
- Use the truncation symbol * to get all forms of a word.
- Try a different database.
- Ask a librarian for help.
Practice Finding the Full Text in Primo
Use Primo Advanced Search to find out if the full text for the following article is available:
Abra, Allison. "Doing the Lambeth Walk: Novelty Dances and the British Nation." Twentieth Century British History, vol. 20, no. 3, Sept. 2009, pp. 346-369.
Where's The Fulltext?
There are three methods for obtaining the actual articles you wish to read:
Method 1: In some databases, you will be able to link directly to the fulltext article. Look around, as different databases have different interfaces. Look for a link or buttons that says "Check for Full Text" or Download PDF or similar. If given the choice between a PDF or HTML version of the article, always choose the PDF format. This will give you an exact image, including page numbers, of the article as it appears in the paper journal.
Method 2: If a direct link to full text is not available, then look for a link that checks for fulltext in Primo Search to see if the library subscribes to the journal.
Method 3: Use Interlibrary Loan. See box below.
Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan
If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.
You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.
Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:
Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.
The databases listed below are examples of multidisciplinary finding tools.
Through these databases you will find scholarly articles, popular magazine articles, newspaper articles, and many other types of materials that have been published in periodicals that come from a wide variety of disciplines and perspectives.
Searching these databases is an excellent way to discover which disciplines have studied your topic, and get a sense of the different perspectives they bring to the topic.
Once you've explored some of these tools you may then want to search a subject specific database to get a more in-depth collection of materials related to your topic that come from that discipline.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources including: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, patents, legal opinions and federal & state court opinions.
New York Times (nytimes.com)
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.
In order to register from off-campus you may utilize vDesk. Technology Services provides information on utilizing vDesk: https://www.pugetsound.edu/about/offices-services/technology-services/vdesk-2/
Once on the campus network, or connected to vDesk, to register go to: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
And search for "University of Puget Sound."
Click "Create Account" and complete the registration fields using your @pugetsound.edu email address.
If you have previously registered your email address on The NYT site, click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link just below the "Create Account" button.
Access to the nytimes.com is partially supported by a contribution from ASUPS.
There are several databases from which to choose when you are seeking scholarly work. For this course, you most likely will want to search one or more subject databases. Subject databases are focused on a single discipline or interdisciplinary field and index books, essays in books, and scholarly articles.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Provides indexing, abstracts and some full-text, for international periodicals. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Arts & Humanities Database
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Humanities International Complete
Access to Humanities International Complete will no longer be provided by the Collins Memorial Library after April 30, 2021.
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, training, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation and more.
MLA International Bibliography
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages. Also covers dance.
America: History & Life
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Black Studies Center
Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. Including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Dance Research Journal
Dance Research Journal is the longest running, peer reviewed journal in its field, and has become one of the foremost international outlets for dance research scholarship. The journal carries scholarly articles, book reviews, and a list of books and journals received.
Search these film sources to find interviews, documentaries, and performances.
Films on Demand - Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
A collection of archival films and newsreels spanning the 1880s to the 21st century.
Films streamed on Kanopy are provided to the Puget Sound community for classroom and educational purposes only. Films that have been licensed for use by the University of Puget Sound are immediately available on the Kanopy platform. If a film has not been licensed for use, you may submit a Kanopy request form and the library will consider the request.
Search for films by title, subject, keywords, or browse by subject. Register with Kanopy to utilize features such as playlists, clips, sharing, embedding, and creating a watch list for future viewing.
Victoria Marks : Not About Iraq
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2008
Internationally acclaimed choreographer Victoria Marks asks, "What is an artist's civic responsibility?" Through poetic, visceral dance, Not About Iraq takes a hard look at heroism and truth. Marks and her dancers challenge assumptions. Includes a revealing interview with the choreographer.