Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History 200: Doing History (Prof. Gomez): Primary Sources (20th-century Social Movements)

In class on Feb. 16, we will be working with the primary source sets listed below.

After spending some time exploring the materials at each station, answer the following questions:

1)  What is especially interesting or intriguing to you about these materials?

2)  How might you use these materials to identify a research question about a particular social movement in 20th-century America?

3)  What other types of information or primary sources might you want to look for to put into conversation with these materials?  In other words, what are some of the strengths and weaknesses you see to using these materials as primary sources?

 

Primary Source Stations

Station A:  Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Click on "Explore Collections" in the upper left hand corner, then select "ACT UP: The AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power," then begin perusing the collection.

 

Station B:  African American Communist Party Pamphlets

You can access this physical collection through the A&SC. Choose one pamphlet to examine during your time at this station.

 

Station C:  Women's Suffrage & Women's Rights

This collection is housed in the A&SC. Choose one type of ephemera to examine during your time at this station.

Station D:  Newspapers and Magazines: The Summer of 1967

Print copies of popular magazines like Newsweek and Life are located on the lower level of the library.  Hundreds of American magazines are indexed in Readers' Guide Retrospective and Readers' Guide Mega.

At this station, you'll want to look the following:

1. Newsweek, August 7, 1967

2. Life, July 28, 1967

You can access the Life photo archives online (via Google) to examine questions surrounding which photographs were chosen for publication.

The Chicago Defender can be accessed through the Black Studies Center database. Start with this article, then explore the newspaper issues from late July through August 1967.

3. "White Crowds In R. I. Try To Attack Negroes"

Chicago Defender (Aug 05, 1967) p.2, col.4

Durable URL: http://gateway.proquest.com/openurl?url_ver=Z39.88-2004&res_dat=xri:bsc:&rft_dat=xri:bsc:rec:newspaper:HNP_68419_19670805_0016

 

 

Station E:  The University of Puget Sound Student Experience: The Vietnam War

Navigate to the digitized collection of The Trail.

1.  Examine the advertisement for "Draft Counseling" in the September 20, 1968 Trail (page 8).

2.  "The Bankruptcy of American Liberalism," January 21, 1972.

3.  Search for articles discussing the ROTC program on campus.