Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives & Special Collections @ Collins Library
For this assignment, you will be working pamphlet collections housed in the Archives & Special Collections of Collins Library. Due to their sometimes fragile nature, these materials must be used with care only in the A&SC. In addition to the class time you will have to work with these materials, you also may come during A&SC Reading Room hours, Monday through Wednesday, 11-4. Appointments are also available outside of Reading Room hours; just send an email to email@example.com with your request.
A finding aid for the African American Communist Party pamphlets is available in ArchivesWest.
A finding aid for the Canse pamphets is also available.
Research Avenues: Digital Resource Centers
Digital resource centers offer packages of curated content related to a particular theme. They typically include a mix of primary, secondary, and tertiary sources and can be excellent starting points for research.
Black Studies Center
Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. Including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and several historical newspapers, including the Chicago Defender from 1912-1975.
Oxford African American Studies Center
A collection of full text materials focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African and African American history and culture. Includes biographies, images, primary source documents with commentaries, maps, tables and charts, and thematic timelines.
Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
History Study Center
Provides a collection of digitized primary, secondary, and tertiary sources for the study of history. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips. Navigate to the American history section for this assignment.
Research Avenues: Additional Tertiary Sources
Social History of the United States by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2008
This ten-volume encyclopedia explores the social history of 20th-century America in rich, authoritative detail, decade by decade, through the eyes of its everyday citizens.
Dictionary of American History by
Call Number: Click title above for online access
Features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
Also try the large collections of tertiary sources:
ABC CLIO eBooks
This eBook Collection contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
Recommended Databases for Scholarly Secondary Sources
America: History & Life
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides access to research in areas related to communication and mass media.
Associate Director for Public Services
Contemporaneous Newspapers & Magazines
In addition to the digitized archives of several African American newspapers in the Black Studies Center, these newspaper and magazine databases are also available to you:
The Crisis is the official newspaper of the NAACP and has been in publication since 1910.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Many news magazines of the 20th century (Time, Newsweek, U.S. News & World Report, etc.) are available in print format on the lower level of the Collins Library.