Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes subject encyclopedias in the social sciences with relevant articles relating to intersections between the Reformation and political theory, economics, cultural theory, etc.
Oxford Art Online
Covers all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art and includes images. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Oxford Music Online
Provides articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Provides full text access to dozens of subject encyclopedias, including the Encyclopedia of Religion and Encyclopaedia Judaica.
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
Relevant Subject Encyclopedias
Use entries in subject encyclopedias to fill gaps in your knowledge and to help you discover related ideas, concepts, people, and events. Use the bibliographies to identify especially key scholarly work. Some bibliographies provide separate listings of primary source materials; in other cases, the main body of the entry may mention important primary source materials.
Start with the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation, then branch out according to your topic and approach.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 1996
Entries discuss the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. This broadly cast, interdisciplinary definition allows for a comprehensive social and intellectual history of early modern Europe.
Puritans and Puritanism in Europe and America by
Call Number: BX9323 .P85 2006, v. 1-2, Print reference (first floor)
Publication Date: 2005
This treatment of the Puritan movement covers its doctrines, its people, and its effects on politics and culture.
Encyclopedia of European Social History by
Call Number: HN373 .E63 2001 Reference
Publication Date: 2001
Covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present. Vol. 1 includes an essay on the historiography of the Reformation from a social historian's perspective; vol. 5 includes several relevant entries, including an essay by Andrew Pettegree on the effects of the Reformation on culture and gender.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras by
Call Number: Click on link for full online access
Publication Date: 2004
Click on "Table of Contents," then navigate to volume 4, which covers Europe from 1300-1600, and/or Volume 5, which covers Europe from 1600-1800. Includes chapters on architecture and design; fashion; dance; music; literature; philosophy; religion; theater; and the visual arts. Also includes excerpts of primary sources.
Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Click the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2005
This is the essential subject encyclopedia for the discipline of religious studies. Includes articles on a wide range of topics relevant to the Reformation, from the Anabaptism to Huldrych Zwingli.
A Companion to the History of the Book by
Call Number: Click on title for online access.
Publication Date: 2007
Chapters 14-19 explore the intersections between the Reformation and the history of printing, publishing, and the book trade.
Encyclopedia of Tudor England by
Call Number: Click on title for online access
Publication Date: 2011
Covers the years 1485-1603, but also includes entries relevant to pre-Tudor and to post-Tudor, Jacobean England.
The Encyclopedia of Apocalypticism by
Call Number: BL501 .E53 1998 Reference
Publication Date: 1998
Apocalypticism has been a major element in the three monotheistic Western religions of Judaism, Christianity and Islam. Over the past 30 years, extensive scholarship has been devoted to the study of apocalypticism. The contemporary role of apocalyptic thought, both in America and in the world at large, has also been a subject of intense research. This reference work provides a survey of apocalypticism's role in Western history, from its origins down to the eve of the third millennium.
Associate Director for Public Services