Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching Topics in Early Modern Europe: Some Tips
- Be flexible with search terms for the time period: late Middle Ages, late medieval, early modern, Reformation, Counter-reformation, even Renaissance can all be terms used for the time period.
- Try searching by century, too: fifteenth century, sixteenth century, seventeenth century.
- Search databases that cover both medieval and modern periods.
When searching for monographs in Primo, start with titles identified in subject encyclopedia entries, and then look at the Library of Congress Subject Headings for those in the Primo records. For scholarly work published especially after about 2000, there may be several subject headings that will help you identify further research on your topic.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Indexes scholarly books, articles, essays, and dissertations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
International Medieval Bibliography
Multidisciplinary index of scholarly work on the medieval period. Covers scholarship on topics through the sixteenth century. Can be used only on the campus network.
Additional Disciplinary Databases
Depending on your topic and approach, you may need to also search subject databases for other disciplines.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Coverage spans European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Topics include visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
MLA International Bibliography
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages. Also covers cultural studies, folklore, film studies, and linguistics.
Covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. It contains research published since 1940 including journals from many countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Arts & Humanities Database
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Music Periodicals Database
Provides indexing, abstracts and full-text, for international music periodicals. Content covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.