Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art, Architecture, & Images
Images of art and architecture from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation may be useful as primary source materials, depending on your topic and approach. For example, if you are exploring witch trials, or church rituals, or fashion norms, such images potentially could be very rich sources to analyze.
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images. You can search by artist's name (El Greco, Holbein) or by topic (search for "altar," then limit by date range and geographic location).
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Includes a search option to limit to illustrations.
Oxford English Dictionary
A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It contains etymologies, definitions, pronunciations, history and quotes for words in the English language.
Digital text collections and thematic anthologies (print or ebook format) provide a way to conduct a broader survey of available primary source materials.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. When used in conjunction with the English Short Title Catalog (ESTC), you can trace disputations, editions, and much more: estc.bl.uk
You can search Primo with Library of Congress Subject Headings to find anthologies of primary sources. The "formula" is basically "large topic" + [optional geographic or chronological subheadings] + [optional disciplinary subheading] + "sources." Here are some examples:
Reformation -- Sources
Counter-Reformation -- Sources
Gender identity -- Europe -- History -- Sources
Witchcraft -- Europe -- History -- Sources
Calvinism -- Europe -- History -- Sources
Anabaptists -- History -- Sources
Europe -- History -- 1492-1648 -- Sources
Ages of Woman, Ages of Man: Sources in European Social History, 1400-1750 by
Call Number: Click title for online access
Publication Date: 2013
The collection is organized around two main principles, stages of life and gender, and is divided into eight chapters: childhood, youth and sexuality, courtship and weddings, married life, economic life, networks and communities, and widowhood and old age.
English translations of many primary source materials relating to early modern Europe exist on the Web. In most cases, the translations available online for free are those that are out of copyright (published prior to 1923). It is good practice to see if a more recent scholarly edition and/or scholarly translation exists.
For example, several English translations of Malleus maleficarum, a late fifteenth-century treatise on witchcraft, exist, but a more recent scholarly edition by Christopher Mackay likely would be most helpful if you were to use this as a primary source:
Malleus Maleficarum by
Call Number: Print books BF1569 .I5 2011 (Click on title for ebook version.)
Publication Date: 2012
Mackay includes an introductory essay, extensive annotations, notes on translation, and information on the works the author cites. Using this scholarly edition would help you contextualize this primary source.