Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What should I look for?
You need to identify one subject encyclopedia entry for your bibliography, but it's likely you'll need to look at several before selecting the one most relevant to your research.
- A fairly substantial entry (at least several paragraphs long)
- A signed entry (what is the name and background of the scholar who wrote the entry?)
- Discussion of areas of controversy or disagreement, in addition to the topic overview
- Identification of primary source materials
- A bibliography of selected secondary, scholarly sources.
- What is the disciplinary framework of the subject encyclopedia in which you find the entry? How might this affect coverage of the topic?
- Are any cross-references to other topics provided? How does this information help you determine the parameters of your topic?
Subject Encyclopedia Collections
This collection provides access to dozens of subject encyclopedias that are relevant to STS 375 research, covering such topics as global warming, genetics, the environment, medicine, and the history of science and technology. This is a good first place to start your research!
This is another very strong collection for subject encyclopedias related to the history of science and technology. The collection is divided into "quick reference" resources, which provide very brief information, and "reference library" entries. For the purposes of this research assignment, use the available filters to limit your results to "reference library" entries.
Individual Subject Encyclopedias
Sometimes the subject encyclopedia collections can be too overwhelming at first. If you need a place to start, try one or both of these publications:
Science and Its Times by
Call Number: Click title to access via GVRL.
Publication Date: 2000
The seven volumes are chronologically ordered from 2000 B.C. to the present, addressing a wide variety of scientific developments with explanations of underlying factors and their effects on politics, economics, culture and daily life.
Science, Technology, and Society: An Encyclopedia by
Call Number: Click title for online access via Oxford Reference.
Publication Date: 2005
Emphasizes an interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture.
Associate Director for Public Services