Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. You may wish to limit your results to just the history of science journals. Note that JSTOR does not include current scholarship; the embargo can be anywhere from one to ten years.
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature in all disciplines, with definite strengths in science and technology coverage. Note that results may not meet academic criteria for "scholarly," as Google has not made public how it determines whether a source is scholarly. Google Scholar often links to papers and articles on commercial publisher websites. These sites will ask you to buy a subscription or pay for an article. DO NOT pay for articles, as they may be available in or via the library, or you can request them via Interlibrary Loan.
Collins Library has just switched to a new interlibrary loan system called Tipasa. (For the experienced researchers among you, Tipasa is the replacement for ILLiad.)
Articles not available in Collins Library or via one of the library's full-text databases can be requested via interlibrary loan. In many cases, you'll receive a PDF of the article in just a few days.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM)
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.
IsisCB is an open access discovery service for the history of science, built on 40-years of data in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science. You'll need to copy the bibliographic information you find and then paste it into Primo, but the extra step is worth it in terms of the additional sources you'll find!
Additional Subject Databases
Depending on your focus, you may find it useful to search one or more of these databases as well.
America: History & Life
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for many journal titles with a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.