Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding News Coverage About the NWDC
The NWDC has been covered in many news sources, from local to national. While we generally pay more attention and place more trust in big names when it comes to news, issues having to do with the NWDC are often reported in small, independent sources that are interested in speaking truth to power. In general, when researching the NWDC be sure to stay critical of how power and funding plays a role in whose perspectives are presented and whose best interest in served in the stories reported.
These are only a few of the available data bases where you can find news coverage of the NWDC.
Try searching some of the following terms to get started:
"Northwest Detention Center"
"Immigration", "Detention" and "Deportation"
"Maru Mora Villalpando"
News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
A great place to find local, national, and even international news coverage of the NWDC.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Find opinions and a variety of perspectives on controversial issues from the NWDC to immigration detention and deportation in general here.
You can find news sources written by and for communities most impacted by detention and deportation here, including Spanish language news sources.
The Tacoma News Tribune
The Tacoma News Tribune is Tacoma's local news source and has done lots of coverage on the NWDC. Search "Northwest Detention Center" on their website
The Seattle Globalist
The Seattle Globalist is an independent news source based in Seattle. Search "Northwest Detention Center" on their website to find TONS of coverage.
Democracy Now! provides daily independent national and global news coverage. Search "Maru Mora Villalpando" on their website for coverage of immigration and the NWDC.