Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Scholarly Sources to Understand the NWDC
Scholarly or 'secondary" sources are necessary when forming an academic argument about the Northwest Detention Center.
Your scholarly sources don't have to directly discuss the NWDC. One way to approach your search for scholarly sources is by thinking about what you want to argue and what lens/discipline you want to approach this issue with.
Since the NWDC is a pretty huge topic all on its own, another useful exercise when researching it is to brainstorm some specific topics implicated by the NWDC, and then approach your research from this angle.
Some examples of topics might be: prisons, immigration, race, colonialism, neoliberalism, identity, policing, or environmental racism- just to name a few!
Choosing Your Disciplinary, or Multidisciplinary, Approach
Here are a few discipline-specific databases where you can find useful scholarly sources.
Pro-tip: In these data bases you will probably be most successful if you use multiple keywords- the more specific, the better!
America: History & Life
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for many journal titles with a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
Are Prisons Obsolete? by
Publication Date: 2003-08-05
Since the 1980s prison construction and incarceration rates in the U.S. have been rising exponentially, evoking huge public concern about their proliferation, their recent privatisation and their promise of enormous profits. But these prisons house hugely disproportionate numbers of people of colour, betraying the racism embedded in the system, while studies show that increasing prison sentences has had no effect on crime. Here, esteemed civil rights activist Angela Davis lays bare the situation and argues for a radical rethinking of our rehabilitation programmes.
Publication Date: 2015-12-11
Deported tells the intimate stories of people caught in an immigration law enforcement dragnet that serves the aims of global capitalism. Tanya Golash-Boza uses the stories of 147 of these deportees to explore the racialized and gendered dimensions of mass deportation in the United States, showing how this crisis is embedded in economic restructuring, neoliberal reforms, and the disproportionate criminalization of black and Latino men...Many immigrants are exposed to the same racial profiling and policing as native-born blacks and Latinos. Unlike the native-born, though, when immigrants enter the criminal justice system, deportation is often their only way out. Ultimately, Golash-Boza argues that deportation has become a state strategy of social control, both in the United States and in the many countries that receive deportees.
American Immigration and Citizenship by
Publication Date: 2016-09-02
One of the most contentious issues in America today is the status of immigration. American Immigration and Citizenship shows that this issue is far from new. In this book, John Vile provides context for contemporary debates on the topic through key historical documents presented alongside essays that interpret their importance for the reader. The author concludes that a highly-interconnected world presents no easy answers and offers no single immigration policy that will work for all time. The book includes a mix of laws, constitutional provisions, speeches, and judicial decisions from each period. Vile furthermore traces the interconnections between issues of citizenship and issues of immigration, indicating that public opinion and legislation has often contained contradictory strains. Although the primary focus has been on national laws and decisions, some of the readings clearly indicate the stakes that states, which are often affected disproportionately by such laws, have also had in this process.
Finding Background Information in Subject Encyclopedias
When choosing an approach or angle to take when studying the NWDC, it can be useful to look in subject encyclopedias for background information about that topic.
For example, if you search "Prison Industrial Complex" or "Hunger Strikes" in the database below you will find short but comprehensive histories of these issues, as well as further sources for research, in different subject encyclopedias.
Gale Virtual Reference Library includes the full text of over 100 subject encyclopedias spanning multiple disciplines.
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.