Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The resources and strategies listed here will help you find acceptable sources for your presentation on a person of historical importance to the development of criminology and/or forensic science.
Primo Search Tips
Primo Search will help you identify books and articles, both scholarly and popular. To reduce the number of results you need to consider, try some or all of these strategies:
- Search by subject rather than keyword. Using the advanced search option, switch from "any field" to "subject" and write your protagonist's name as "last name, first name" in the search box.
- Search for a specific title listed in the bibliography at the end of an especially useful subject encyclopedia entry.
- Use Primo's filters, limiters and sorters after running your initial search. For example, if you run a search for "Cesare Lombroso," you'll get nearly 2,000 results, including a biography written in 1911 as well as works written by Lombroso himself. On the right hand side of the results screen, switch the sorting feature from "Relevance" to "Newest first," and you'll be connected with more recent scholarly sources. Or you could limit by material type to focus on peer-reviewed articles.
Overviews & Histories
Your protagonist may be discussed within the larger frameworks of the history of criminology and forensic sciences. A few good places to start include:
Subject Encyclopedia Collections
As you research your chosen protagonist, seek multiple sources that are written from different disciplinary perspectives. This will help you develop a well-rounded biography of the individuals in terms of their importance to forensic science or criminology.
The subject encyclopedias in GVRL are particularly strong in history in general, as well as the history of science, technology, and medicine. Includes the Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography, Science and Its Times, and the Encyclopedia of Science, Technology and Ethics, among dozens of others.
SAGE Knowledge emphasizes subject encyclopedias in the social sciences, including psychology, anthropology, sociology, law, and criminology.
For some of the individuals on your list of protagonists, you may need to consult print reference resources. Print subject encyclopedias are located in the reference section on the first floor of Collins Library, just off of the Learning Commons.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by
Call Number: DA28 .O95 2004 v. 1-61 Reference
Publication Date: 2004
The ODNB is a collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000.
American National Biography by
Call Number: CT213 .A68 1999 (v. 1-24) Print reference
Publication Date: 1999
Contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by an expert in the field and completed with a bibliography.
If your protagonist is a detective or crime writer (such as Edgar Allen Poe or Agatha Christie), you'll likely want to also consult subject encyclopedias for the study of literature and writers:
Literature Resource Center
Contains subject encyclopedias, articles from academic journals, and excerpts from literary magazines, scholarly monographs, literary correspondence, and diaries.
Associate Director for Public Services