Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Criminal Investigations and Trials
If you are researching a criminal case that went to trial, see if you can find a case file that includes testimony and, if applicable, images of evidence.
There are many online sites devoted to particular crimes and trials. Look for ones that are sponsored by educational institutions, libraries or museums, or historical societies. A few examples:
Print Media Primary Sources
Trial Pamphlets Collection (Cornell University Law School)
"Trial pamphlets are contemporary accounts of trials that involved prominent citizens or that dealt with especially controversial or lurid topics. These pamphlets were produced quickly and inexpensively, and then sold on the street soon after the trial to a mass audience."
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1995)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Los Angeles Times newspaper.
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2012).
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega
Includes indexing as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles as far back as 1994. Provides access to illustrations, photographs and other graphical content from the original article. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary.
Scholarly Articles & Books
Use Primo to help identify scholarly books as well as reviews of them. Look for books published by university presses or academic publishers.
Take a multidisciplinary approach when searching for scholarly articles. The databases below will help you find scholarly work written from a variety of disciplinary perspectives.
America: History & Life
A history database. Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Criminal Justice Database
U.S. and international criminal justice journals. Topics covered include, criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
General Science Full Text
Includes scholarly articles related to forensics from a scientific perspective.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM)
Includes scholarly work on intersections of science and technology with criminal forensics.
A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents and case studies.
Includes scholarly work in the areas of forensic psychology and psychiatry.