Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Not sure where to start? You have three broad strategies that you can try:
- Browse key Classics journals
- Search the subject database, L'année philologique
- Search multidisciplinary ejournal databases
Practice: Try out each strategy! Search for an article on Spartacus, the Third Servile War, or, more generally, slave revolts in Roman history.
Browse Scholarly Journals
If you're not sure yet what you're interested in, or you're interested in so many different aspects of Roman history that you can't decide where to focus, you might want to just browse through scholarly journals to see what catches your eye. Collins Library subscribes to several scholarly journals in the interdisciplinary field of Classics, including the three named below:
Greece and Rome
This scholarly journal includes translations of all Greek and Latin quotations in order to increase the accessibility of its content. The link will take you to the catalog record in Primo. Note that there are two online sources, depending on date range.
The link will take you to issues from 1950 to 2010. More recent issues are available in print format in the periodicals section in the library basement.
Journal of Roman Studies
The link takes you to the catalog record in Primo. Note that current issues are available through Cambridge University Press Journals, while back files are available through JSTOR.
Search the Subject Database
Like most other disciplines, Classics has a subject-specific database, called L'année philologique. Subject databases index scholarly materials (books, chapters in books, scholarly articles, dissertations) that will be of interest to researchers within that discipline.
For the article review assignment, you'll want to limit your results to just articles. Click on the "check for full text" link to see if Collins Library has the journal or if you need to order it through interlibrary loan.
A bibliography of scholarly work on classical antiquity published in any language, anywhere in the world.
Interlibrary Loan for Articles
If your article is not available at or via Collins Library, you've got another option for obtaining it! Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.
Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form.
Allow at least a week for the article to come, although many articles arrive sooner. You'll receive an email with a link to the electronic copy of your requested article.
Some databases offer full-text access to journals across multiple disciplines. These can be wonderful, convenient resources, but please be mindful of three important limitations:
- Date range of available journal issues: JSTOR does not include current issues of journals. Project Muse does not include deep backfiles of journal issues.
- Limited selection of journals: A subject database indexes ALL journals that are relevant to the discipline, but ejournal databases offer only a subset of these. You may miss an important article on your topic if you rely only on an ejournal database.
- Multidisciplinary search results: Sometimes the multidisicplinary range of journals is ideal for your research. Other times, depending on the assignment, it will be very important for you to look within just one discipline. Ask your professor if you're unsure.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.