Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives & Special Collections Online
Collins Library is embarked on a long-term plan to digitize more of the A&SC collections. Here is what is available online now:
- Puget Sound Digital Collections, a selection of digitized material from the Archives & Special Collections.
- A small selection of photographs from Puget Sound.
- Puget Sound historical material-all of which is keyword searchable.
- Puget Sound films, 1930s-1970s.
- Precursor to Arches: The Alumnus, 1930s-1970s.
- A complete run of the student newspaper The Trail, 1890s-2010s.
- Histories of Puget Sound written by past presidents and founders. The Thompson histories contain detailed accounts of professors, student and campus activities, and interesting stories related to Puget Sound during Thompson's presidency (1942-1973).
- Puget Sound Bulletins, 1907-1970, 2006-present, the early bulletins contain a history of campus, classes offered, and the names and addresses of students enrolled.
- You'll want to give yourself sufficient time to explore, so start early!
- Think about what interests you about the history of sport and athletics at the University of Puget Sound.
- What is your general area of interest?
- Example: college women and athletics
- Example: a particular sport (swimming, football, volleyball, etc.) or a particular theme (iconography of photographs of athletes appearing in The Trail)
- What time frame interests you the most?
- Example: pre-Title IX (pre-1972) or World War II period
- Example: 1920s, 1980s or a specific academic year
- You have several options of entry points for your searches.
- Start with the visual record to get ideas: A Sound Past, the yearbooks (Tamanawas), or Ephemera.
- You can start with The Trail, but be aware that you will get lots of results. Nonetheless, if you know that you're interested in coverage of a particular sport during a specific time period, you can start browsing issues to see what's there and might prove interesting.
- If you're especially interested in the place of athletics in the curriculum, the Bulletins may prove to be an especially good place to start.
Links to examples used in class:
https://digitalcollections.pugetsound.edu/digital/collection/upsimages/id/1476/rec/5 (Image from Tamanawas)
https://soundideas.pugetsound.edu/thetrail_all/820/ (Article in The Trail)