The resources listed on this "Getting Started" tab are useful for all of your three research papers. Use the other tabs to find more specialized discovery and research tools for each of the three periods under study.
A search of the topic, "cosmology," in the Gale Virtual Reference database reveals entries written by scholars with different areas of disciplinary expertise, published in several different subject encyclopedias. Because STS 314 is a Connections course, you may find it helpful to familiarize yourself with the various disciplinary lenses through which we can explore the topic of cosmology.
Books are particularly useful because they're often broader in scope than articles. Starting off with a few books germane to your topic will get you the big picture can enable you to find and use highly specific articles more effectively later in your research.
Use Primo to find resources on your topic at Collins Library and beyond. Primo searches for books here and at other nearby libraries, and will also find some articles.
Some full-text library databases provide access to hundreds or thousands of scholarly journals from many different disciplines.
JSTOR is one such database. Note, however, that JSTOR is an archive and typically does not have the most recent issues of a journal. The "embargo" on recent content can be anywhere from one to ten years.
STS is an interdisciplinary field and its databases and you'll find its databases quite useful.
Allie and Hannah are also available for individual appointments. Go to our Schedule a Research Appointment page, click the request button, and select either Hannah or Allie from the drop-down menu to see what appointment times they have available.