Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Modern Era
Use the resources here--in addition to the ones listed on the "Getting Started" tab--for your third paper.
Updated 4/16/20 to emphasize online resources.
Please make an appointment with Peggy Burge for research assistance. (The librarians are using Google Meet for scheduled appointments.)
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM)
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.
A Sampling of Subject Headings
These links have been updated to limit results to ebooks only.
Temporary Ebook Access for Puget Sound Community (not in Primo)
Must be a Puget Sound student, faculty, or staff to access these resources.
These collections include many titles that you may find relevant to your research. For example, if you are researching the William and Caroline Herschel, several of Michael Hoskin's books are available through these collections.
Over 2,000 ebooks, including Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, Cambridge Elements and 700 textbooks published and currently available in HTML format are available through the end of May 2020
More than 35,000 books available through June for JSTOR participating academic institutions. Topics covered vary widely and are the publications of a variety of academic presses.
MIT Press Direct ebooks
More than 2,700 ebooks published by MIT Press available temporarily through May 31. Key subject areas covered in include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
Open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
Cosmological Ideas in Popular Culture
You can trace discussion of cosmological ideas in the popular press, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, London Times, and news magazines like Time, and general interest magazines like The Nation, Atlantic, etc.
Historical Newspapers & Magazines
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2012).
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1995)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Los Angeles Times newspaper.
London Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
Current Newspapers & Magazines
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Access to news, business, governmental and legal sources.
Access World News
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega
Includes indexing as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles as far back as 1994. Provides access to illustrations, photographs and other graphical content from the original article. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary.
Handbooks & Overviews
Commonly Asked Questions in Physics by
Call Number: Print Books QC21.3 .R49 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The book highlights the core areas of physics that predate the twentieth century, including mechanics, electromagnetism, optics, and thermodynamics. It also focuses on modern physics, covering quantum mechanics, atomic and nuclear physics, fundamental particles, and relativity. Each chapter explains the numbers and units used to measure things and some chapters include a "Going Deeper" feature that provides more mathematical details for readers who are up to the challenge. The suggested readings at the end of each chapter range from classic textbooks to some of the best books written for the general public, offering readers the option to study the topic in more depth. Physics affects our lives nearly every day--using cell phones, taking x-rays, and much more.
General Science Magazines
Collins Library provides online access to most general science magazines.