Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding News Articles
Newspaper and magazine articles can be helpful when delving into a new topic, or seeking recent developments on an issue.
Take a look at our news guide to find news articles through the library's subscriptions.
Hot Topics & Opposing Viewpoints
Full-text reports that cover background, main issues, pro/con, next steps, and further reading. Use the Issue Tracker to find related CQ reports and track an issue over time.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Access to Opposing Viewpoints in Context will no longer be provided by the Collins Memorial Library after June 25, 2021.
Full-text collection of news, opinion, reference, and academic journal articles designed to provide a variety of perspectives on controversial issues.
Points of View Reference Center
A full text database designed to provide users with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
TOPICsearch (Current Events)
A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
Recommended IPE Databases
Business Source Premier
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
EconLit with Full Text
Comprehensive index, including partial full-text, of journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers and dissertations in Economics and related fields.
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for many journal titles with a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from many important social science journals
Interdisciplinary Databases (The Big Ones)
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Search IGO Websites
Searches across the websites of major IGO's including the UN, UNICEF, FAO, WFP, IMF, WTO, WHO, and the World Bank, to help you find information from these websites including news, reports, working papers, statistics & data, and more.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea