Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exploring your topic is an important step in the research process. Reading background information about a topic helps you learn important facts and become more familiar with the context and issues around your topic.
Try the following resources as starting points. Search broadly. Also try, searching multidisciplinary databases to help focus your topic.
Oxford African American Studies Center
A collection of full text materials focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African and African American history and culture. Includes biographies, images, primary source documents with commentaries, maps, tables and charts, and thematic timelines.
Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
The social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press books, reference materials and other content.
Full-text reports that cover background, main issues, pro/con, next steps, and further reading. Use the Issue Tracker to find related CQ reports and track an issue over time.
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
Primo is a library search tool for finding materials in the Collins Library and Summit libraries. You can search for books, selected articles and more in a single search box.
Call Numbers to Browse
If you're interested in the broad topic of Ghana or would like to browse for inspiration, try one of these Library of Congress call letters:
- DT509.97-512.9: Ethnography, History, and Local History and Description of Ghana
- LA1610-1630: History of Education in Ghana
- HC1060: Economics in Ghana
- PR9373: Literature in Ghana
However, the best way would be to do a keyword search in the catalog, then look at the subject headings, and search the one that is most relevant.
Locations of books