Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These are only some of the databases that may be useful for your research. Depending on the lens through which you view your project, you may need to use other resources. Consult the Subject list of LibGuides for more suggestions.
Key Music Related Databases
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Music Periodicals Database
Use this database to find scholarly and popular periodicals in the areas of classical music, opera, jazz, popular music and pop culture, music education, musicology, music theory, and many others. There is particularly strong coverage of performance, music education, and jazz.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Provides indexing, abstracts and some full-text, for international periodicals. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2012).
News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
Contains all of the news content provided to Puget Sound by ProQuest. Includes alternative, national, international, local and historical news.
Black Studies Center
Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. Including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
More Databases to Search
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
A collection of full text, scholarly, humanities and social sciences journals.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
ERIC covers over 750 journals related to all aspects of education, and ERIC documents, which include curriculum guides, reports, and conference papers.
America: History & Life
Covers article abstracts, book and media reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Click on "CLIO Notes" for period summaries.
This database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. Coverage includes the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education and more.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
The bibliography contains over 1720 scholarly journal titles published since 1784, and an essay collection of 8,650, published since 1931.