Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SSI1-170: Space, Place, and Values: Images

ARTstor

ARTstor is a large collection of digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.  Click on the ARTstor logo to begin your search.

MLA Image Citations

Original work of art:

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Year, medium, Name of Institution or Private Collection Housing Artwork, City Where Institution or Private Collection is Located.

Reproduction in a print resource:

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Date Artwork Created, Name of Institution or Private Collection Housing Artwork, City Where it is Housed. Title of Print Source by Author or Editor’s Name. Publisher, page or plate number. 

Reproduction from the web:

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Date artwork created, Name of Institution or Private Collection Housing Artwork, City Where it is Housed. Title of Database or Website, Publisher or sponsor of Database or Website, URL or DOI. Date of access (optional). 

 

Image captions:

Captions appear below the image and typically begin with the abbreviation for Figure (Fig.), then followed by assigned Arabic numerals and a brief description. An entry in the works-cited list is not necessary if an image caption provides complete information about the source, and it is the only time the source is referenced in the text.