Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Resources (Digital Collections)
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
ABC CLIO eBooks
This eBook Collection contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
The social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press books, reference materials and other content.
Reference Resources (Specific Titles)
Biographical Dictionary of Central and Eastern Europe in the Twentieth Century by
Call Number: Click title for online access
Publication Date: 2008
Drawing on newly accessible archives as well as memoirs and other sources, this biographical dictionary documents the lives of some two thousand of the region's most important twentieth century historical and cultural figures. Filled with information that is not available in any other resource, the dictionary covers Albania, Belarus, Bulgaria, the Czech and Slovak Republics, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania and Moldova, Ukraine, and the countries that made up Yugoslavia.
Austria-Hungary and the Successor States by
Call Number: Click title for online access.
Publication Date: 2003
This work provides readers with a greater understanding of the history of the Austro-Hungarian Empire and the modern nations - Austria, Hungary, and the Czech Republic - that emerged as a result of the empire's demise. It includes an historical dictionary of A-Z entries.
Associate Director for Public Services
Browse the Print Collection!
Books relevant to the content of this course can be found on the second floor. Call numbers that start with the letter D relate to European history. Call numbers that start with the letters DB more specifically relate to the histories of Austria and Hungary, but you'll likely find relevant books elsewhere in the Ds as well.